Trio set for women's World Cup feat

Karen Rolton

Australia's Karen Rolton is one of the foremost players in the women's world game

Karen Rolton, Charlotte Edwards and Anjum Chopra are all set to star in their fourth women’s World Cup after being picked by their nations for the flagship event.

The world’s top eight teams have finalised 15-man squads to compete in the ninth edition of the tournament, to be held in Australia between March 7 and 22.

They join a select group of 13 women to have achieved the feat, with England’s Clare Taylor and Debbie Hockley of New Zealand the only to have appeared in five World Cups.

Janette Brittin (1982, 1988, 1993 and 1997) and Jane Smit (1993, 1997, 2000 and 2005) are the other two Englishwomen to have appeared in four tournaments.

Edwards, the England captain, goes in search of her country’s third trophy, after previous triumphs in 1973 and 1993.

ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year 2008, Edwards has played 117 one-day internationals including 16 ODIs in World Cups. With 3,520 international runs, including 802 in World cups, she is fourth on the list of most successful batsmen behind Hockley (4,064), and Australian pair Rolton and Belinda Clark.

Hockley said: “I look back at my five World Cups with a lot of pride because I was able to play so long for New Zealand.

“It turned out that my last World Cup (in 2000) was with the winning team after I ended up on the losing side in the 1993 and 1997 finals. That World Cup victory (in England) was the pinnacle of my career.”

“My suggestion to the players would be to enjoy this opportunity as only the World Cup provides you the chance to play against all the best teams in the world.

“The players also need to realise that this World Cup will provide them with a unique experience with it being the first to be staged under the ICC’s auspices.”

For Pakistan's women, it will be their first experience of the most prized tournament in women’s cricket.

Matches will be held at six venues across New South Wales and Australian Capital Territory.

England women

Charlotte Edwards' England are in imposing form after thrashing India 4-0 at home in summer 2008


Group A: Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, West Indies.
Group B: India, England, Sri Lanka and Pakistan.

The top three sides in each group go forward to the Super Six stage where each side then plays the teams which qualified from the other group. The top two sides from the Super Six go through to the final.

Finalised 15-man squads

Australia: Karen Rolton (captain), Alex Blackwell (vice-captain), Sarah Andrews, Jessica Cameron, Leonie Coleman, Lauren Ebsary, Rene Farrell, Jodie Fields, Delissa Kimmince, Shelley Nitschke, Erin Osborne, Ellyse Perry, Leah Poulton, Emma Sampson, Lisa Sthalekar.

England: Charlotte Edwards (captain), Caroline Atkins, Katherine Brunt, Holly Colvin, Lydia Greenway, Lauren Griffiths, Isa Guha, Jenny Gunn, Laura Marsh, Beth Morgan, Ebony Rainford-Brent, Nicola Shaw, Anya Shrubsole, Claire Taylor, Sarah Taylor.

India: Jhulan Goswami (captain), Amita Sharma (vice-captain), Anagha Deshpande, Anjum Chopra, Gouher Sultana, Harpreet Kaur, Mithali Raj, Poonam Raut, Priyanka Roy, Reema Malhotra, Rumeli Dhar, Snehal Pradhan, Sravanthi Naidu, Sulakshana Naik, Thirush Kamini.

New Zealand: Haidee Tiffen (captain), Aimee Mason (vice-captain), Suzie Bates, Nicola Browne, Abby Burrows, Sophie Devine, Lucy Doolan, Sara McGlashan, Beth McNeill, Katey Martin, Rachel Priest, Kate Pulford, Amy Satterthwaite, Sarah Tsukigawa.

Pakistan: Urooj Mumtaz (captain), Sana Mir (vice-captain), Almas Akram, Asmavia Iqbal, Armaan Khan, Batool Fatima, Bismah Maroof, Javeria Khan, Nain Abidi, Nahida Khan, Naila Nazir, Qanita Jalil, Sajjida Shah, Sania Khan, Sukhan Faiz.

South Africa: Sunette Loubser (captain), Alicia Smith (vice-captain), Susan Benade, Cri-Zelda Brits, Trisha Chetty, Mignon du Preez, Shandre Fritz, Shabnin Ismail, Marizanne Kapp, Ashlyn Kilowan, Marcia Letsoalo, Charlize van der Westhuizen, Yolandi van der Westhuizen, Dane van Niekerk, Claire Terblanche.

Sri Lanka: Shashikala Siriwardena (captain), Sanduni Abeywickrama, Suwini de Alwis, Hiruka Fernando, Rose Fernando, Inoka Galagedara, Gayathri Kariyawasam, Eshani Lokusooriya, Dilani Manodara, Chamari Polgampola, Udeshika Prabodani, Deepika Rasangika, Dedunu de Silva, Sripali Weerakkody, Chandi Wickremasinghe.

West Indies: Merissa Aguilleira (captain), Kirbyina Alexander (vice-captain), Shanel Daley, Deandra Dottin, Afy Fletcher, Geneille Greaves, Cordel Jack, Stacy-Ann King, Pamela Lavine, Debbie-Ann Lewis, Anisa Mohammed, Shakera Selman, Danielle Small, Charlene Taitt, Stefanie Taylor.