Women's World Cup - 1982

In 1982, New Zealand hosted the women’s World Cup for the first time and were joined by Australia, England, India and an International XI in a triple-league contest with the top two teams qualifying for the final.

After 12 rounds, Australia showed amazing consistency to win 11 matches. England won seven and lost three, New Zealand won six and lost five, India won four and lost eight and the International XI failed to win a match.

This tournament also included the first tied games in women’s cricket – England remarkably appearing in both the matches - against New Zealand and Australia.

In the final, Australia defeated England by three wickets to retain the title.

England batsman Jan Brittin was the star of the tournament scoring 391 runs, including a century and a half-century.

Australia’s left-arm spinner Lyn Fullston (23 wickets) beat the challenge of Jackie Lord by one wicket to finish as the leading wicket-taker.

India leg-spinner Shubhangi Kulkarni was the other bowler who earned headlines for her 20 wickets in the tournament.