Women's World Cup - 1997

In 1997, the World Cup returned to India and saw the biggest gathering when 11 teams played matches all across India.

The format of the event was also revised with 11 teams split into two groups with quarter-finals, semi-finals and the final.

Australia won the six-team Group A by winning four matches with one no-result while England finished second with four wins, followed by South Africa with three wins, Ireland with two wins and Denmark with one win while Pakistan remained scoreless.

New Zealand topped the five-team Group B (it held fewer teams than Group A due to the late withdrawal of Canada) with three wins, followed by India on two, Sri Lanka and Holland with one each and West Indies remaining winless. This tournament included another tie, this time between New Zealand and India.

In the quarter-finals, Australia beat Holand by 115 runs, with England overcoming Sri Lanka by nine wickets. India beat South Africa by five wickets in a low-scoring encounter and New Zealand defeated Ireland by 139 runs.

In the semi-finals, Australia beat India by 19 runs in a reduced 32-over-a-side match to set up a meeting with New Zealand who defeated defending champions England by 20 runs.

In the final, New Zealand’s Debbie Hockley scored 79 but it was not enough to help overcome Australia who won by five wickets.

Hockley, who was adjudged player-of-the-final, also finished as the leading run-scorer with 456 runs with two centuries and two half-centuries, while Belinda Clark of Australia scored 445 runs with one century and two half-centuries.

Australia seamer Katrina Withers, with 13 wickets, beat the challenge of team-mates Cathryn Fitzpatrick (12) and Olivia Magno (11). Melissa Reynard of England also finished with 11 wickets.