Women's World Cup - 2000

The 2000 women’s World Cup in New Zealand returned to its old format of eight teams playing on a single-league format with the top two teams qualifying for the final.

Defending champions Australia remained unbeaten while New Zealand finished second with six wins, followed by India on five wins, South Africa with four wins, England with three wins, Sri Lanka with two wins, and Ireland and Holland with a win apiece.

In the final, New Zealand avenged their six-wicket defeat in the tournament opener to upset Australia by four runs in a nerve-wracking thriller.

Australia, chasing 185 for victory, were cruising nicely at 85 for two and then 150 for six before they lost their way and fell short by four runs.

The victory also brought an end to New Zealand batsman Debbie Hockley’s glittering career.

Australia’s Karen Rolton showed fine form throughout, belting two centuries and two half-centuries in scoring 393 runs, but it was her team-mate Lisa Keightley who walked away with the player-of-the-tournament award for her 375 runs.

The bowling honours went to Australia fast bowler Charmaine Mason who took 17 wickets in the series.

One of the other features of the tournament was the participation of right-handed batsman Nicola Payne who made her fourth World Cup appearance - but the first for New Zealand. She had previously represented Holland in the 1988, 1993 and 1997 World Cups.