RSS feeds from

Women's news RSS

Taylor scoops ICC gong

Follow England women's progress on - click here for exclusive interviews and videos, latest news, match reports and more

England's Sarah Taylor has won the Women’s Twenty20 Cricketer of the Year award.

Taylor, who could not attend the ceremony in Sri Lanka as she is today in the England side facing West Indies, beat off competition from Australia duo Alyssa Healy and Lisa Sthalekar as well as Stafanie Taylor.

Both her and international team-mate Lydia Greenway, however, missed out on the one-day international equivalent, which was won by the former’s namesake, Stafanie.

Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara won both the Test Cricketer of the Year and the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy, as the world’s outstanding player across all formats in the past 12 months.

Sarah Taylor

Sarah Taylor's fine T20 form has been recognised by her being voted the format's player of the year at the ICC awards today

England’s Ashes winners Alastair Cook and Jonathan Trott took those two awards in 2011, but neither they nor any of their compatriots even reached the shortlists this time.

Sangakkara made it a hat-trick in the People’s Choice category at the ceremony in his native country, receiving the top award from ICC president Alan Isaac.

He said: “This is an amazing honour - and I’ve seen the people who have won it before me and the nominees too.

“To be named alongside them is wonderful. I admire them greatly, and even more so when I looked up at their records on the screen this evening.

“It’s great to be among them. But now to receive this honour this evening is simply fantastic.”

Somerset and Ireland’s George Dockrell, meanwhile, won the Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year award - ahead of three of his fellow Irishmen, Kevin O'Brien, Paul Stirling and Ed Joyce.

ICC Awards winners

ICC Cricketer of the Year (winning the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy)

Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka)

ICC Test Cricketer of the Year

Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka)

ICC Women's ODI Cricketer of the Year

Stafanie Taylor (West Indies)

ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year

Virat Kohli (India)

ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year

Sunil Narine (West Indies)

ICC Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year

George Dockrell (Ireland)

ICC Twenty20 International Performance of the Year

Richard Levi (South Africa)

ICC T20I Women's Cricketer of the Year

Sarah Taylor (England)

ICC Spirit of Cricket Award

Daniel Vettori (New Zealand)

ICC Umpire of the Year (winning the David Shepherd Trophy)

Kumar Dharmasena

LG People's Choice

Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka)

ICC Test Team of the Year is as follows (in batting order)

Alastair Cook (England)
Hashim Amla (South Africa)
Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka)
Jacques Kallis (South Africa)
Michael Clarke (Australia - captain)
Shivnarine Chanderpaul (West Indies)
Matt Prior (England - wicketkeeper)
Stuart Broad (England)
Saeed Ajmal (Pakistan)
Vernon Philander (South Africa)
Dale Steyn (South Africa)
12th Man - AB de Villiers (South Africa)

ICC ODI Team of the Year is as follows (in batting order)

Gautam Gambhir (India)
Alastair Cook (England)
Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka)
Virat Kohli (India)
MS Dhoni (India - wicketkeeper/captain)
Michael Clarke (Australia)
Shahid Afridi (Pakistan)
Morne Morkel (South Africa)
Steven Finn (England)
Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka)
Saeed Ajmal (Pakistan)
12th Man - Shane Watson (Australia)