RSS feeds from

Women's news RSS

Women's YC programme expanded

Follow England women's progress on - click here for exclusive interviews and videos, latest news, match reports and more

Danni Wyatt

England all-rounder Danni Wyatt is among the 14 players who have been selected for the expanded MCC Women's Young Cricketers programme in 2012

The England and Wales Cricket Board has collaborated with Marylebone Cricket Club to enhance and expand the MCC Women’s Young Cricketers programme.

Fourteen players have been chosen for the 2012 intake, who will be based at Lord’s throughout the summer with access to world-class facilities and expert multi-disciplined coaching, to help them prepare for the challenges of playing international cricket.

Each player will work to a bespoke programme, addressing their technical, tactical, psychological and physical development through a range of dynamic and supportive training environments.

They will also get the opportunity to test their skills on the field of play, with fixtures organised against a variety of tough opposition, including boys’ county sides and schoolboy teams.

Away from the cricket field the MCC Women’s YCs programme will simultaneously develop the non-sporting skills of its participants through work experience placements within various departments across MCC on major match days, in addition to working closely with the Professional Cricketers’ Association, to help guide their career paths.

The programme will be directed by England women’s head coach Mark Lane, with input from MCC head coach, and former England international, Mark Alleyne plus former Australia women’s captain and England women’s academy head coach Lisa Keightley.

All 14 members will receive financial assistance to allow them to train and play as full-time cricketers throughout the season.

MCC head of cricket John Stephenson said: “I am absolutely delighted that MCC is now working alongside the ECB to expand the MCC Women’s Young Cricketers programme. The partnership demonstrates the club’s determination to foster new talent and maintain its reputation as a strong supporter of women’s cricket.

Clare Connor

ECB head of women's cricket Clare Connor said: "The ECB are thrilled to be working so collaboratively with MCC to develop women’s cricket."

“It is fantastic to see how far the MCC Women’s YCs scheme has developed since it was first introduced nine years ago, and I am very excited to watch this latest progression unfold.

“The England women’s team has played exemplary cricket during the past few seasons, and this collaboration with the ECB will ensure that the next generation of players are given an ideal structure to concentrate on their game in the best cricket environment in the world.”

ECB head of women’s cricket Clare Connor said: “The ECB are thrilled to be working so collaboratively with MCC to develop women’s cricket. The original MCC Women’s YCs scheme was revolutionary in terms of the on and off pitch support it offered to a handful of cricketers each summer.

“From 2012, a full squad of players will be involved with the revamped scheme, enabling us to have more contact time with our high potential players, and allowing us to build a broader fixture list.

“This step represents another significant stride for the women’s and girls’ game in this country; the ultimate aim being to ensure that England women remain the number-one ranked team in the world for many years to come.”

MCC was the first cricketing organisation in the world to pay female cricketers as professionals through the MCC Women’s Young Cricketers scheme in 2003. Over the last nine years the scheme has helped to develop some of the most promising women’s players in England – including World Cup winners Caroline Atkins and Beth Morgan.

Full-time MCC Women’s YCs for 2012:

Tammy Beaumont (Kent)
Georgia Elwiss (Sussex)
Heather Knight (Berkshire)
Susie Rowe (Kent)
Anya Shrubsole (Somerset)
Sarah Taylor (Sussex)
Fran Wilson (Somerset)
Danielle Wyatt (Staffordshire)


Jodie Dibble (Devon)
Amy Jones (Warwickshire)
Beth MacGregor (Essex)
Alice Macleod (Berkshire)
Natasha Miles (Middlesex)
Natalie Sciver (Surrey)