England find Wright formula

England & New Zealand; Pallekele

England & New Zealand; Pallekele - The two sides stand for the national anthems at Pallekele  

Steven Finn & Martin Guptill

Steven Finn & Martin Guptill - Finn gives England, who lost the toss, an early breakthrough by getting rid of Guptill  


England - Graeme Swann celebrates with his team-mates after getting rid of Rob Nicol to leave the Black Caps 42 for three  

Ross Taylor

Ross Taylor - Ross Taylor looks to rebuild after New Zealand lose a further wicket  

Craig Kieswetter & James Franklin

Craig Kieswetter & James Franklin - Franklin bats in a manner that belies his team-mates' struggles to lead the New Zealand revival  

Steven Finn & England

Steven Finn & England - Finn gets rid of Ross Taylor and finishes with outstanding figures of 3-16  

Nathan Mccullum

Nathan Mccullum - McCullum hits a couple of sixes in an enterprising 16 not out  

James Franklin

James Franklin - Franklin reaches a deserved half-century in the final over, with the Black Caps posting 148 for six  

Craig Kieswetter

Craig Kieswetter - Kieswetter is bowled by Daniel Vettori early in the reply  

Alex Hales

Alex Hales - Hales gives England some crucial early impetus via a couple of lusty blows  

Luke Wright

Luke Wright - Wright quickly finds his feet alongside Eoin Morgan  

Eoin Morgan

Eoin Morgan - Morgan unfurls the odd aggressive shot yet, in the main, supports explosive partner Luke Wright  

Eoin Morgan & Luke Wright

Eoin Morgan & Luke Wright - The duo put on 89 for the third wicket, with Morgan eventually departing for 31  

Luke Wright

Luke Wright - Wright hits five sixes and as many fours in a 43-ball 76, eventually falling in the final over  

Jos Buttler

Jos Buttler - Buttler hits the winning run as England emerge victorious by six wickets with 1.1 overs to spare  

England & New Zealand; Pallekele Steven Finn & Martin Guptill England Ross Taylor Craig Kieswetter & James Franklin Steven Finn & England Nathan Mccullum James Franklin Craig Kieswetter Alex Hales Luke Wright Eoin Morgan Eoin Morgan & Luke Wright Luke Wright Jos Buttler