England 1 min read

England Men name 14-strong squad for Royal London Series

England Men take on Ireland in three Royal London Internationals at the Ageas Bowl in Southampton

Link Copied
England Men name 14-strong squad for Royal London Series

England captain Eoin Morgan

England National Cricket Selectors have named a 14-strong squad with three reserves for the three-match Royal London Series against Ireland at the Ageas Bowl.

The series starts on Thursday 30 July and will be played behind closed doors, in a bio-secure environment.

Eoin Morgan will captain the side with Moeen Ali named as his vice-captain last week.

England Men’s ODI Squad

Eoin Morgan (Middlesex) Captain, Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Tom Banton (Somerset), Sam Billings (Kent), Tom Curran (Surrey), Liam Dawson (Hampshire), Joe Denly (Kent), Saqib Mahmood (Lancashire), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Jason Roy (Surrey), Reece Topley (Surrey), James Vince (Hampshire), David Willey (Yorkshire)

Reserves: Richard Gleeson (Lancashire), Lewis Gregory (Somerset), Liam Livingstone (Lancashire)

England Men's ODI player profiles 

James Taylor, the England selector who has been watching the team's preparations at the Ageas Bowl, said:

“We are developing excellent strength in depth in white-ball cricket. Even though a number of Test players are unavailable, there is great competition for places, as we have seen during the intra-squad matches and the England Lions warm-up match.

"There are a number of players who'll feel unlucky not to have made the final squad and that says a lot about how many players we currently have pushing hard for selection at the highest level.

"These ODIs against Ireland are an opportunity to continue the exciting evolution of the ODI side, while also looking towards the T20 World Cup in 2021.

"In this challenging season, everyone at England appreciates the hard work and dedication of the county coaches and support staff who have helped these players to get ready for competitive cricket.”

The series will see the launch of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League. Introduced to bring context to ODI cricket, the Super League will determine qualification for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 with the top seven teams automatically booking their spot at the event in India.

Royal London Series

First Royal London International: England v Ireland, Thursday July 30, Ageas Bowl

Second Royal London International: England v Ireland, Saturday August 1, Ageas Bowl

Third Royal London International: England v ireland, Tuesday August 4, Ageas Bowl

Link Copied

Related Articles

Become a Supporter

Join for free today and you'll get all these member benefits:

  • Priority access to buy England tickets

  • Extended highlights and in-play clips

  • Unique competitions

  • Breaking news from behind the scenes

There was an error saving your preference.

ECB Lion Logo