• County 5 min read

    County ins and outs

    Who is playing where in 2018?

    County ins and outs:


    Ins: Ravi Rampaul (Surrey), Mitchell Santner (Overseas), Duanne Olivier (Overseas), Safyaan Sharif (One-Day Cup & Vitality Blast), Wahab Riaz (Vitality Blast)

    Outs: Tom Wood, Greg Cork, Tom Milnes (all released)


    Ins: Will Smith (Hampshire), Nathan Rimmington (Overseas), Aiden Markram (Overseas), Tom Latham (Overseas), Axar Patel (Overseas)

    Outs: Paul Coughlin (Nottinghamshire), Graham Onions, Keaton Jennings (both Lancashire)

    Other news: Paul Collingwood has signed a one-year contract extension


    Ins: Feroze Khush (Youth), Matt Coles (Kent), Peter Siddle (Overseas for the first five Championship matches), Neil Wagner (Overseas mid May to end of July), Adam Zampa (Overseas for Blast)

    Outs: Chris Silverwood (Head Coach has been appointed England fast bowling coach), Kishan Vilani (released)

    Winter news: Anthony McGrath has been confirmed as Head Coach, Dimi Mascarenhas has been confirmed as assistant coach.


    Ins: Matt Maynard has re-joined as batting consultant. Shaun Marsh has signed a two-year deal. Usman Khawaja (Vitality Blast)

    Outs: Jaques Rudolph (Retired), Will Bragg (Retired)

    Other news: Colin Ingram has become limited-overs captain, with Michael Hogan continuing to lead the Specsavers County Championship side. 


    Ins: Ryan Higgins (Middlesex), Andrew Tye (Overseas for Blast), Daniel Worrell (Overseas)

    Outs: Patrick Grieshaber and Brandon Gilmour (released), Phil Mustard.


    Ins: Sam Northeast (Kent), Chris Sole (Youth), Hashim Amla (overseas), Dale Steyn (Overseas), Colin Munro (Vitality Blast), Mujeeb Ur Rahman (Vitality Blast)

    Outs: Will Smith (Durham), Michael Carberry (Leicestershire)


    Ins: Ollie Robinson (Youth), Harry Podmore (Middlesex), Heino Kuhn (Overseas), Matt Henry (Overseas), Carlos Brathwaite (Vitality Blast)

    Outs: Adam Ball, Hugh Bernard, Charlie Hartley (all released) Matt Coles (Essex), Sam Northeast (Hampshire).

    Sam Billings has been confirmed as Club Captain.


    Ins: Keaton Jennings and Graham Onions (both Durham), Josh Bohannon (Youth), Liam Hurt, James Faulkner (T20 Blast), Joe Mennie (Overseas)

    Outs: Kyle Jarvis (released), Luke Proctor (Northamptonshire)

    Contract news: Shivnarine Chanderpaul has signed a new one year contract for 2018

    Captaincy news: Liam Livingstone has been named the new Club Captain


    Ins: Michael Carberry (Hampshire), Ateeq Javid (Warwickshire), Tom Taylor (Derbyshire), Mohammad Abbas, Sohail Khan (Overseas), Mohamed Nabi (Overseas for Vitality Blast), Varun Aaron (Overseas cover for Abbas early season).

    Outs: Clint McKay (released), Will Fazakerley (retired)

    Coaching staff: Paul Nixon has replaced Pierre de Bruyn with John Sadler as his assistant. Graeme Welch has left to rejoin Warwickshire.


    Ins: Ashton Agar (Vitality Blast), Hilton Cartwright, Dwayne Bravo (Vitality Blast).

    Outs: Ryan Higgins (Gloucestershire), Harry Podmore.


    Ins: Brett Hutton (Nottinghamshire), Luke Proctor (Lancashire), Doug Bracewell (Overseas), Rory Kleinveld (Overseas), Seekugge Prasanna (Overseas)

    Outs: David Murphy (retired), Azaharulah (released)

    Coaching staff: Former captain David Sales has become full-time batting coach after a part-time spell in the role.


    Ins: Paul Coughlin (Durham), Chris Nash (Sussex), Ish Sophie (Vitality Blast), Will Fraine (Youth)

    Outs: Brett Hutton (Northamptonshire), Chris Read (retired)

    News: Steven Mullaney has been appointed as Club Captain


    Ins: Finn Trenouth, Corey Anderson (Overseas for Vitality Blast)

    Outs: Jim Allenby, Ryan Davies, Michael Leask (all released)

    Coaching staff: Andy Hurry has returned as Director of Cricket following the departure of Matthew Maynard. Jason Kerr has become head coach.

    Other news: Marcus Trescothick has signed a one-year contract extention.


    Ins: Mitchell Marsh, Aaron Finch (T20 Blast), Will Jacks, Gus Atkinson (both youth, Morne Morkel (Kolpak)

    Outs: Ravi Rampaul (Derbyshire), Kumar Sangakkara (retired)


    Ins: Jason Gillespie has signed as coach, Rashid Khan (Overseas) has signed for the Blast, Ishant Sharma (Overseas) has signed for from 4 April to 4 June. Tom Bruce (Overseas) has signed for the entirety of the Blast.

    Outs: Chris Nash (Nottinghamshire), Steve Magoffin (Worcestershire)

    Coaching Staff: Mark Davies has left his post as head coach


    Ins: Alex Thomson, Colin De Grandhomme (Blast)

    Outs: Ateeq Javid (Leicestershire), Mark Adair

    Coaching Staff: Graeme Welch has returned as bowling coach

    Captaincy: Jeetan Patel has been named as Captain in the Specsavers County Championship and Royal London One-Day Cup, Dom Sibley will be Vice Captain. Grant Elliott will continue as Birmingham Bears captain in the Blast


    Ins: Alex Milton (Youth), Steve Magoffin (Sussex), Martin Guptill (Vitality Blast), Callum Ferguson (Vitality Blast).



    Ins: Kane Williamson (Overseas), Cheteshwar Pujara (Overseas).

    Outs: Ryan Sidebottom (retired), Will Rhodes (Warwickshire)

    Other news: Billy Stanlake was signed for the Blast but later withdrawn by Cricket Australia to focus on national commitments

We Are England Cricket Supporters

Sign in to We Are England Cricket Supporters

Join We Are England Cricket Supporters for FREE to get the latest news, information and highlights from England Cricket via email

You can also get access to a number of other benefits as a Supporter. Once you’ve signed up, look out for your welcome email with more information.

Sign up using your email

Your password should contain:

  • minimum of 8 characters
  • numbers
  • upper and lower case letters

Select your preferences

Additional details and preferences

We Are England Cricket Supporters sign-up is subject to our terms and conditions. Please click here to view the terms and conditions.

Our privacy notice outlines how we use your information. Please click here to view our privacy notice.

Use the verification code sent via email to activate your account.

Your England Cricket Supporters Profile

Update your details

Select your preferences Close

Additional preferences


Request a new password

Set a new password.

Your password should contain:

  • minimum of 8 characters
  • numbers
  • upper and lower case letters

Resend verificaton email