All you need to know about the Disability Premier League

The 2023 Disability Premier League gets underway on Sunday 20 August at Neston CC. Find out more about the competition here!

What is the DPL?

The Disability Premier League is a pioneering cricket competition, bringing together players from three different disability groups – physical disability (PD), learning disability (LD) and hearing impairment/deaf.

How does it work?

There are four teams, each with players from the three disability groups playing alongside each other. Each team plays six T20 games across three weekends, with the top two sides going through to the final.

Each squad contains 16 players, with everyone playing a minimum of two games each during the competition, subject to availability. Each disability group must bowl at least 20% of a team's overs, meaning a minimum of four overs are to be bowled at least one player from the PD, LD and Deaf pool.

And new for 2023 is the introduction of an 'explosion' over, which is a sixth powerplay over that can be taken by the batting side anywhere between the sixth and 20th overs.

What are the teams?

Black Cats – captain: Angus Brown 
Pirates – captain: Anthony Clapham
Tridents – captain: Liam O'Brien 
Hawks – captain: Alex Hammond

See the full squads here.

Where are the games played?

The group stage matches will be played at three venues across three consecutive weekends. Each team will play two matches each Sunday, with the first starting at 10.30am and the second starting at 14.30.

The final will be played at Derbyshire’s Incora County Ground ahead of England Women’s IT20 against Sri Lanka.

Sunday 20 August – Neston Cricket Club (map)
Sunday 27 August – Valley End CC, Chobham (map)
Sunday 3 September – Loughborough University (map)
Wednesday 6 September – Incora County Ground (map)

Are spectators welcome?

Absolutely! Entry to the group stage games is free of charge, with refreshments available on site, but it’s recommended you bring your own seat to sit by the boundary edge.

For the final, you’ll need to purchase a ticket to England Women’s game against Sri Lanka, giving you access to both games of cricket. Buy tickets here.

How can I follow the competition online?

We've got you covered here at! You can access fixtures, results and live scorecards from each of the games, as well as live streams and highlights videos!

Click here to find out more.

Why has the DPL been created?

The DPL sits between county cricket at the England international setups in the ECB Disability Cricket pathway. It is designed to benefit disability cricket in a number of ways, including promoting the sport to a new audience and encouraging new players to take up the sport.

The competition also gives existing disability cricketers the opportunity to come together and play alongside their peers with different disabilities. This opportunity to play high level cricket on a regular basis is integral to the continuing development and improvement of our England Disability teams