Our Members

ECB Governance Structure

The ECB is the single national governing body for cricket in England and Wales and was founded in 1997. Based at Lord’s, it is responsible for developing and supporting all areas of the game – from elite through to recreational level.
ECB’s legal status as a company limited by guarantee means it can prioritise the long-term health and sustainability of the sport rather than generating a return to shareholders.
It is owned by its 41 members – comprising the chairs of the 18 First Class Counties, the 21 Cricket Boards of the non-First-Class Counties, the National Counties Cricket Association and the Marylebone Cricket Club.

Corporate Governance

The ECB is committed to following the highest standards of corporate governance across all levels of the game. In December 2017, Sport England confirmed that the ECB was fully compliant with its Code for Sports Governance.
The ECB completed an extensive Governance Review, following the release of the Governance Code, which led to far-reaching reforms including:
  • Revised Articles of Association
  • A fully independent Board
  • An updated Board appointment process
  • Greater protections and consultation rights for ECB Members
  • Good Governance Institute independent external review
Report and recommendations of external governance review into payments made to Glamorgan County Cricket Club (PDF).