• England 4 min read

    What is England's Ashes record at the Gabba?

    How many Ashes Tests have England won at Brisbane? Who has hit our highest score? Who has taken the most wickets?

    England's Ashes record at the Gabba

    Wins: 4
    Highest total:
    517/1 in 2010
    Lowest total: 79 in 2002
    Highest score: Alastair Cook – 235 not out v Australia in 2010
    Most runs: Alastair Cook – 434
    Best bowling: Bill Voce – 6-41 v Australia in 1936
    Most wickets: Bob Willis – 19

    Ashes 2010/11 Special Feature - Legends recall England's miracle escape at Brisbane

    In part one of our special Ashes 2010/11 feature - hosted by Mike Atherton - Jonathan Trott, Matt Prior and Chris Tremlett recall England's amazing comeback at Brisbane. Supported by Hardys.

    The glorious comeback in 2010

    England will need to evoke the spirit of 2010 when the Ashes begins in Brisbane this week.

    The tourists have played 20 Tests at the ‘Gabbatoir’, winning just four and drawing five, the most recent of which came seven years ago when they recovered from a perilous position to salvage a confidence-boosting draw.

    Trailing by 221 runs after the first innings, England batted again and made a scarcely believable 517 for one – something Graham Gooch called ‘the perfect scoreboard’.

    Alastair Cook, who struck an unbeaten 235, put on 188 with Andrew Strauss (110) and 329 with Jonathan Trott (135*) to ensure England travelled to Adelaide with the series level.

    Vintage Botham

    You have to go back to 1986 for England's last victory at the Gabba.  

    In that game Ian Botham cracked 138 as England rattled up 456 after being asked to bat first.

    Graham Dilley then took 5-68 as Australia followed on and five wickets from John Emburey in the second innings left England chasing 75 to win, which they duly did.

    "That first ball, first over and first couple of hours are crucial."

    2010/11 Ashes winning captain Mike Gatting

    “It was the perfect start to the tour,” recalled captain Mike Gatting. “The Gabba has changed a fair bit since I last played there; it's quite an arena now.

    “As captain, if you win the toss you think you should bowl, but then have a bat. You need to bat well, though, but once you get through the first session it becomes a good pitch for two or three days.

    “Quite often the team that wins the first session at Brisbane wins the Test. That first ball, first over and first couple of hours are crucial.”

    Start as you mean to go on

    Twice in recent series the first ball at Brisbane has set the tone for the rest of the Test.

    In 1994 Michael Slater sent Australia on their way towards a big victory by hitting Phil DeFreitas’ first ball of the series for four.

    Who could forget Steve Harmison bowling the opening delivery of the 2006-07 Ashes to second slip? We all know what happened after that.

    And let's not mention Nasser Hussain's decision to field first at Brisbane in 2002.

    It started so well...

    The tourists triumphed in their first two Tests at Brisbane, a seven-wicket victory in 1933 followed by a 322-run win three years later.

    In that game Maurice Leyland's 126 in the first innings put England in a position of strength, which fast bowlers Bill Voce and Gubby Allen exploited. Voce finished with match figures of 10-57 while Allen took eight wickets.

    England had to wait 42 years for their next success in Brisbane, which began with Bob Willis, Chris Old and Ian Botham bowling Australia out for just 116.

    Derek Randall made 75 as England built up a healthy lead but Australia regrouped and hundreds from Graham Yallop and Kim Hughes set the visitors 170 to win.

    It was Randall who took England home with an unbeaten 74 while David Gower played his part to finish on 48 not out.

    England v Australia in Brisbane

    1933: England won by six wickets

    1936: England won by 322 runs

    1946: Australia won by innings and 322 runs

    1950: Australia won by 70 runs

    1954: Australia won by innings and 154 runs

    1958: Australia won by eight wickets

    1962: Draw

    1965: Draw

    1970: Draw

    1974: Australia won by 166 runs

    1978: England won by seven wickets

    1982: Australia won by seven wickets

    1986: England won by seven wickets

    1990: Australia won by 10 wickets

    1994: Australia won by 184 runs

    1998: Draw

    2002: Australia won by 384 runs

    2006: Australia won by 277 runs

    2010: Draw

    2013: Australia won by 381 runs

We Are England Cricket Supporters

Sign in to We Are England Cricket Supporters

Join We Are England Cricket Supporters for FREE to get the latest news, information and highlights from England Cricket via email

You can also get access to a number of other benefits as a Supporter. Once you’ve signed up, look out for your welcome email with more information.

Sign up using your email

Your password should contain:

  • minimum of 8 characters
  • numbers
  • upper and lower case letters

Select your preferences

Additional details and preferences

We Are England Cricket Supporters sign-up is subject to our terms and conditions. Please click here to view the terms and conditions.

Our privacy notice outlines how we use your information. Please click here to view our privacy notice.

Use the verification code sent via email to activate your account.

Your England Cricket Supporters Profile

Update your details

Select your preferences Close

Additional preferences


Request a new password

Set a new password.

Your password should contain:

  • minimum of 8 characters
  • numbers
  • upper and lower case letters

Resend verificaton email