England name squad for South Africa series

World Cup winners name a 14-player squad for the opening Royal London ODIs of the summer against South Africa.

England Women have named a squad of 14 for the first two Royal London ODIs of the summer, against South Africa at Worcestershire and Hove respectively.

It will be the first time the two sides have met since last summer’s dramatic ICC Women’s World Cup semi-final at Bristol, while the opening game at Worcester will also be the first time England have played a 50-over game on home soil since they lifted the World Cup trophy at Lord’s.

The South Africa series forms part of the ICC Women's Championship and marks England's first steps on the way to qualification for the 2021 50-over World Cup.

Katherine Brunt, Georgia Elwiss, Laura Marsh, Sarah Taylor and Lauren Winfield all return having missed the tour to India, but there’s no room for World Cup winners Fran Wilson or Alex Hartley.

England squad to face South Africa

The England and South Africa ODI series will be followed by an IT20 tri-series also involving New Zealand, before three ODIs between England and New Zealand at the beginning of July.

Coach Mark Robinson said: “It should be a really exciting summer against two of the best teams in the world.

“South Africa are an up-and-coming team with some really dangerous players.

“They pushed us close the last time we met them and we will have to be at our best to beat them.

“It's obviously great to have Katherine and Sarah back, and Lauren and Laura's recent form has earned them recalls.”

England ODI fixtures v South Africa

Saturday 9 June: First ODI v South Africa, Worcester
Tuesday 12 June: Second ODI v South Africa, Hove
Friday 15 June 15: Third ODI v South Africa, Canterbury