Essex won the Bob Willis Trophy in 2020

Domestic Cricket

The ECB is responsible for running the three county competitions in the men’s professional game and the two tournaments at the top of the women’s game.
In addition, The Hundred – which features eight city-based teams in both the men’s and women’s competitions – features eight men’s and women’s teams and aims to open cricket to more families and young people.

Men’s County Cricket

The 18 First Class Counties compete in the LV= Insurance County Championship, the Vitality Blast and the Royal London Cup.

The LV= County Championship, which was first established in 1890, features a two-division structure. Ten counties compete in Division One and eight in Division Two with a two-up, two-down promotion and relegation system.

The Vitality Blast is the oldest professional T20 competition in the world showcasing historic county rivalries in the North and South Groups. Each county play 14 group-stage matches before the competition culminates with Finals Day at Edgbaston.

The Royal London One-Day Cup is the men’s 50-over competition with the final staged at Trent Bridge.

Women’s Domestic Cricket

The Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy and the Charlotte Edwards Cup provide top-level performance competitions for the eight women’s regional teams.

In the 50-over Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy, named in honour of one of women’s cricket most notable pioneers, a group of eight teams play each other once the final.

The Charlotte Edwards Cup is named after the former England captain, whose legendary status embodies the modern revolution of women’s cricket both on and off the field. The competition splits the eight teams are split into two groups of four with each team playing six matches before Finals Day.

Southern Vipers celebrate with the Rachael Heyhoe Flint trophy

Southern Vipers celebrate with the Rachael Heyhoe Flint trophy

The Hundred

The Hundred, a key part of the ECB’s Inspiring Generations strategy to grow cricket, is a 100-ball competition. The competition showcases world-class cricket in a fast-paced format designed to open cricket up to a broader audience as well.

The competition launched in 2021 and features eight teams from seven cities – Birmingham, Cardiff, Leeds, London (two sides), Manchester, Nottingham and Southampton. The women’s and men’s competitions are promoted equally and feature equal prize money.