Story and Witney honoured at Domestic Cricket Journalism Awards

The ECB Domestic Cricket Journalism Awards were presented as part of the Domestic Season Launch at the Kia Oval.

Melissa Story and Katya Witney have won the two individual honours at the 2023 ECB Domestic Cricket Journalism Awards, which were presented in partnership with the Cricket Writers’ Club at The Kia Oval today.

Story won the coveted Christopher Martin-Jenkins Broadcaster of the Year with a CWC judging panel labelling the BBC Test Match Special commentator as a “terrific young broadcaster with a big future”.

Wisden journalist Witney, who is a graduate of the ECB’s Hundred Rising Reporter programme, was named the Christopher Martin-Jenkins Young Journalist of the Year for her “well-rounded, thought-provoking and clearly written portfolio”.

Witney is the second successive Wisden journalist to win the award, after Taha Hashim last year, while colleague Ben Gardner was highly commended.

It is the first time female journalists have won the two individual awards in the same year, with Isabelle Westbury the one previous female winner of both awards in their 13-year history.

The Liverpool Echo claimed the double of the Regional Newspaper of the Year and Outstanding Newspaper Coverage of Domestic Cricket awards for the second successive year, with cricket writer Tom Evans again earning the plaudits.

The CWC panel said: “Stories which particularly caught the judges’ eyes included the role cricket had played in the recovery from drug and alcohol addiction of a prominent local club player and a regional take – again with strong interview content – on the ICEC report.”

The Cricketer Online won the Outstanding Online Coverage for a record sixth successive time to mark the long-term success of outgoing online editor Sam Morshead.

The awards were presented at the official launch of the new domestic season, when Surrey captain Rory Burns was presented with the 2023 County Championship pennant.

Representatives from each of the domestic women’s, disability and men’s trophy-winning teams from last season were on hand present the Domestic Journalism Awards.

ECB CEO Richard Gould and ECB chair Richard Thompson were also in attendance along with Cricket Writers’ Club chair Dean Wilson.

ECB CEO, Richard Gould, said: “The domestic game is stronger for the strength and diversity of the coverage that it attracts and the winners of this year’s awards showcase the very best of that.

“Melissa and Katya are two young journalists with a passion for our game and their ability to tell stories and bring cricket to life for people all across England and Wales has deservedly been acknowledged by the Cricket Writers’ Club panel of judges.

“I would also like to congratulate Tom Evans and the Liverpool Echo team for their continued outstanding coverage of the game from the grassroots level and to The Cricketer Online for yet another award to befit their comprehensive coverage of men’s, women’s and disability cricket.”

CWC chair, Dean Wilson, said: “Huge congratulations to all the winners on their awards with particular recognition for both Melissa and Katya who have shone so brightly in the embryonic stages of their burgeoning careers.

“There is a huge amount of talent when it comes to the coverage of domestic cricket, and these awards have long reflected the time, skill and dedication employed by a wide range of quality journalists.

"We are keen to encourage more in every part of the media when it comes to presenting our vibrant domestic game to the public. Whether it is talking or writing about, shooting or filming domestic cricket, we can't wait to see and hear what stories are told this year."


2023 ECB Domestic Cricket Journalism Award winners:

CMJ Young Journalist of the Year: Katya Witney; Highly commended: Ben Gardner

CMJ Broadcaster of the Year: Melissa Story; Highly commended: Dan Whiting and Ben Watts

Regional Newspaper of the Year: Liverpool Echo; Highly commended: Stoke Sentinel.

Outstanding Newspaper Coverage of Domestic Cricket: Liverpool Echo

Outstanding Online Coverage of Domestic Cricket: The Cricketer Online