ECB Lion background image

ECB Clubmark

ECB Clubmark is an accreditation scheme for cricket clubs which shows that a club is sustainable, well run and provides the right environment for its members. Clubmark accreditation also means your club is recognised as a safe, rewarding and fulfilling place for participants of all ages, as well as assuring parents and carers that they are choosing the right option for their young people.
A survey of clubs who accredited in 2018 showed that 98% of clubs believe the scheme is important to them as a club and will continue with accreditation in the future and 60% of clubs agreed that going through the accreditation process had improved them as a club. There are currently over 1800 accredited cricket clubs across England & Wales, with a further c300 working through the process.
In 2021 we introduced the Safe Hands Management System which helps clubs with understanding and meeting their safeguarding responsibilities. This system is a key part of obtaining ECB Clubmark accreditation, but in addition we also review a clubs development plans for the future, together with key governance documents as required under the UK Sport’s Code for Sports Governance.
In order to gain Clubmark accreditation, clubs will need to provide evidence in relation to:
  • Club development plan
  • Club constitution
  • Committee structure and meetings
  • Accounts and finances
  • Adoption of ECB Safe Hands Policy and Anti-Discrimination Code
  • Club insurance
  • Compliance on the SMHS
To find out more about the requirements to gain Clubmark accreditation, click here. Accreditation will last for a period of three years and any clubs looking to again accreditation in 2023 will need to upload their evidence by 30 June.
If you have any general questions regarding Clubmark then please contact your County Board representative. Any questions regarding the Clubmark portal should be sent to
If you are already registered on the portal you can gain access via this link -