About the England and Wales Cricket Board

The England and Wales Cricket Board was established on January 1, 1997 as the single national governing body for all cricket in England and Wales.

It has its headquarters at Lord’s Cricket Ground in London.

The formation of the ECB was the culmination of a drive towards creating, for the first time, one unified body responsible for the management and development of every form of cricket for men and women.

This included clubs, schools, juniors and youth, disabilities cricket, representative, first class and international cricket - the whole game from playground to the Test arena.

The ECB took over the responsibilities carried out for some 30 years by the Test and County Cricket Board (TCCB), the National Cricket Association (NCA) and the Cricket Council, all of which ceased to exist.

In April 1998 the Women’s Cricket Association (WCA) was also integrated into the organisation.

The formation of the ECB followed two years of research into how cricket in England and Wales could be better organised to attract more players to the game, raise standards at all levels and promote cricket as a spectator sport.

The ECB structure

Responsibility for the day-to-day running of the ECB rests with the executive management team who report directly to the chief executive, Tom Harrison, with each enjoying a high degree of functional delegated authority.

The chief executive, in turn, reports to the Chairman of the ECB Board. This was expanded in size from 12 to 14 members in May 2010; for the first time including two women directors.

Full details of the ECB Board’s composition can be found here.

An executive committee chaired by the Chief Executive  is responsible for delivering the ECB’s strategic plans and three other committees (cricket, commercial and finance) are actively responsible for working with the leadership team on policy, planning and strategic issues - plus also an arm’s-length Discipline Standing Committee.

The board is comprised of a chairman, deputy chairman and chairman of cricket elected by all 41 members of ECB, two independent directors, three directors from the first-class game, two directors from the recreational game, two ECB executives, a women’s game representative and an MCC representative.

ECB Management Board  

List of Directors:

  • Colin Graves - ECB Chairman
  • Giles Clarke CBE - ECB President
  • Ian Lovett - ECB Deputy Chairman - chairman to the audit committee
  • Jim Wood - chairman of the recreational assembly, chairman of Devon Cricket Board
  • Peter Wright - chairman of cricket
  • Richard Thompson - chairman of Surrey CCC
  • Tom Harrison - ECB Chief Executive Officer
  • Lucy Pearson - independent director
  • Matthew Fleming - MCC representative
  • Professor Lord Patel of Bradford OBE - independent director
  • Jane Stichbury CBE - independent director
  • Andy Nash - chairman of Somerset CCC
  • Martin Darlow - CEO of Bedfordshire Cricket Board

Members of the ECB

The 41 members of the ECB are:

  • The Chairmen of the 18 First-Class Counties
  • The Chairmen of the 21 County Boards in Non-First Class Counties
  • The Chairman of the MCC
  • The Chairman of the Minor Counties Cricket Association
  • Summary of Constitutional Changes 2015

Cricket Unleashed

The plan for the game of cricket. A plan designed for the game, by the game. Aimed at getting a bat and ball into more hands, introducing more people to the power of cricket and showing a generation how to get involved. To learn more about Cricket Unleashed, click here.


For the 2016/17 annual report: Click Here



We Are England Cricket Supporters

Sign in to We Are England Cricket Supporters

Join We Are England Cricket Supporters for FREE

  • Priority Tickets for England Internationals.
  • England Cricket news and highlights in your inbox.
  • 10% England Cricket Store discount.
  • Exclusive Ashes Competition entry information will be included in your welcome email upon signing up.

Sign up using your email

Your password should contain:

  • minimum of 8 characters
  • numbers
  • upper and lower case letters

Select your preferences

Additional details and preferences

Use the verification code sent via email to activate your account.

Your England Cricket Supporters Profile

Update your details

Select your preferences Close

Additional preferences


Request a new password

Set a new password.

Your password should contain:

  • minimum of 8 characters
  • numbers
  • upper and lower case letters

Resend verificaton email