Stuart Broad nominated for BBC Sports Personality of the Year Award

England Ashes legend Stuart Broad is in the running for the 2023 BBC award

The shortlist for BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2023 have been revealed.

The contenders are (in alphabetical order):

  • Stuart Broad (Cricket)
  • Frankie Dettori (Horse Racing)
  • Mary Earps (Football)
  • Alfie Hewett (Tennis)
  • Katarina Johnson-Thompson (Athletics)
  • Rory Mcllroy (Golf)

Over the last seven decades the public has decided who its sporting heroes are. Once again, the six sport stars will compete for the public vote on the night of the live show on Tuesday 19 December.

Live from Media City, Salford, presenters Clare Balding, Gary Lineker, Gabby Logan and Alex Scott will look back at an action-packed year of sport on BBC One and iPlayer from 7pm.

Lioness hero, Beth Mead, took home the coveted title of BBC Sports Personality of the Year in 2022, with England’s Test cricket captain Ben Stokes coming in second and GB curler Eve Muirhead taking third spot.

The industry panel for this year’s BBC Sports Personality of the Year included former Lioness and Euro 2022 winner Ellen White, former Olympian Colin Jackson, former Paralympian Ellie Simmonds and former Scotland rugby union international Chris Paterson.

Sports journalists David Coverdale (Daily Mail), Rob Maul (The Sun) and Charlotte Harpur (The Athletic) were on the panel alongside Katherine Grainger from UK Sport.

Representing the BBC were Director of Sport Barbara Slater, Head of Sport Content Philip Bernie and Sports Personality of the Year Executive Producer Gabby Cook.

The awards being presented on the night are:

  • Sports Personality of the Year 
  • World Sport Star of the Year 
  • Helen Rollason Award 
  • Young Sports Personality of the Year 
  • Unsung Hero 
  • Coach of the Year 
  • Team of the Year 
  • Lifetime Achievement award 

Votes can be cast by phone or online on the evening of Tuesday 19 December and the number to call for each contender will be revealed during the programme.

This year will mark 70 years of the biggest awards show in the sporting calendar which saw Chris Chataway be crowned as the first ever winner in 1954.

For further information and full Terms and Conditions, go to